WHY ATTEND?

Learn from senior engineering leaders sharing battle-tested advice

Get your questions answered by our speakers in our Live Q&A sessions

Connect with other managers in our small discussion groups

PAST EDITION's SPEAKER LINEUP

Cathy Polinsky
VP of Engineering
Neetika Bansal
Head of Engineering for
Money Movement team
Dave Burgess
Head of Data Engineering
Kathryn Koehler
Director, Productivity Engineering
Jean Hsu
VP of Engineering
Madhav Nair
SVP of Engineering
Venu Kalluri
VP of Engineering
David Murray
Cofounder
Daphra Holder
Product Lead
Janice Little
SVP of Engineering
Derek Knudsen
CTO
Shweta Saraf
Head of Central Engineering
Andrew Lau
CEO
Praful Kaul
VP of Engineering
Quang Hoang
CEO
Monica Bajaj
Sr. Director of Engineering

SPEAKERS

Nick Caldwell
VP of Engineering
Surabhi Gupta
VP of Engineering
David Singleton
CTO
Bhavini Soneji
VP of Engineering
Arquay Harris
Sr. Director of Eng
Vijay Gill
SVP of Eng & Product
Farhan Thawar
VP of Engineering
Tido Carriero
Chief Product Officer
Teresa Dietrich
Chief Technology & Product Officer
Jackie Bavaro
Former Head of Product Managent
Ale Paredes
VP of Engineering
Lenny Rachitsky
Former Product Lead & Writer/Advisor
Nancy Wang
Head of Product & Eng for AWS Backup
Jason Warner
CTO
Tiffany Dockery
Product Manager
Ian Wong
CTO
Keith Adams
Former Chief Architect
Shannon Hogue
Head of Solutions Engineering
Natalia Panowicz
CEO
Roojuta Lalini
Principal Engineer
David Murray
Cofounder
Chris Haag
VP of Engineering
Wayne Duso
VP of File Storage
Sabrina Farmer
VP of Site Reliability
Ezinne Udezue
VP of Product
John Kim
CEO
Vijaya Kaza
Chief Security Officer
David Blair
CTO
Elaine Zhou
CTO
Eric Johnson
EVP of Engineering
Shishir Mehrotra
CEO & Cofounder
Quang Hoang
CEO & Cofounder

PAST EDITION's SCHEDULE

8:30 am PT • 11:30 am ET • 16:30 GMT

DOORS OPEN!

Visit the Virtual Lounge to chat with other engineering leaders about specific management topics

9 am PT • 12 pm ET • 17:00 GMT

Welcome Remarks

David Murray
Event Emcee
Quang Hoang
CEO

9:15 am PT • 12:15 pm ET • 17:15 GMT

Opening Talk: "Flywheel Effect"

Great technology organizations have growth mindsets and thrive on feedback -- individual feedback, team feedback, customer feedback and product feedback. Once you get these feedback loops going, they create a flywheel effect that is a competitive advantage to your organization. But giving and receiving feedback doesn't always come naturally and it can be even more challenging while we are all remote. Shopify VP of Engineering, Cathy Polinsky will discuss how to create a strong feedback culture flywheel that will improve how you build product and technology.
Cathy Polinsky
VP of Engineering

9:45 am PT • 12:45 pm ET • 17:45 GMT

Talk: Managing engineering meetings without succumbing to Zoom fatigue

Meetings are a perpetual pain point for folks, and yet with many teams remote, it's also the main way to stay aligned and connected. How do you find meeting cadence, structures, and purposes that work for your team?
Jean Hsu
VP of Engineering

10:15 am PT • 1:15 pm ET • 18:15 pm GMT

Panel: How can you measure success on an engineering team?

In this panel, we'll discuss what it means to be an efficient and effective engineering team. You'll hear from senior engineering leader on how they approach measuring things that are sometimes difficult to quantify.
Kathryn Koehler
Director of Productivity Engineering
Madhav Nair
SVP of Engineering
Andrew Lau
CEO

10:45 am PT • 1:45 pm ET • 18:45 GMT

SHORT BREAK

Visit the Virtual Lounge to chat with other engineering leaders!

11 am PT • 2 pm ET • 19:00 GMT

PANEL: Building a Great Relationship between Engineering & Product

In this panel, senior leaders will share how Engineering and Product can have strong collaboration. Often, there's a tension between these teams and you'll get tips on how to overcome that.
Daphra Holder
Product Lead
Venu Kalluri
VP of Engineering
Janice Little
SVP of Engineering

11:30 am PT • 2:30 pm ET • 19:30 GMT

PANEL: What Breaks When Scaling Quickly (And How to Fix It)

Scaling quickly can be like driving a fast car: it’s exciting, but you might miss things in your side or rearview mirrors. In short, it’s all too easy for things to break. In this panel, senior engineering leaders will discuss what breaks when you scale quickly. More importantly, they’ll offer approaches they took to fix them.
Dave Burgess
Head of Data Engineering
Shweta Saraf
Head of Central Engineering
Derek Knudsen
CTO

12 pm PT • 3 pm ET • 20:00 GMT

PANEL: Retaining employees & keeping them engaged

Hiring great engineers is critical, and retaining them is equally as important. In this session, you'll get tips on how to build a team of remote engineers who are engaged and happy at work.
Monica Bajaj
Sr Director of Engineering
Praful Kaul
VP of Engineering
John Kim
CEO

12:30 pm PT • 3:30 pm ET • 20:30 pm GMT

Closing Talk: Achieving high-performance in times of change

In this final session, you'll get tips on how to lead and guide engineering teams through times of ambiguity and uncertainty. Neetika will share what she's learned about navigating changes while leading rapidly growing organizations at Stripe for the last 3 years.
Neetika Bansal
Head of Engineering for
Money Movement team

1 pm PT • 4 pm ET • 21:00 GMT

END OF EVENT

Thanks for attending!

9:00AM PST
12:00PM eST
17:00 GMT

Introduction and welcome by:

David Murray
Cofounder
JB Coger
Cofounder
9:10AM PST
12:10pM eST
17:10 GMT

Opening keynote: Leading with empathy in the age of COVID

Rukmini Reddy, VP Engineering
The talk will focus on how the role of a manager is evolving in today's distributed world. Rukmini will dive into how managers can foster deep relationships, build empathy while remote, and have better 1-on-1 conversations.
9:45AM PST
12:45pM eST
17:45 GMT

Panel: Measuring the Health of Your Engineering Organization

Luc Vincent
EVP Engineering
Pooja Brown
VP Engineering
How do you know whether your team or organization is healthy? What are some patterns or anti-patterns to look out for? In this panel, we'll give you tips on how to build productive & motivated teams and what metrics to track.
10:15AM PST
1:15PM eST
18:15 GMT

Talk: The Pursuit of Impact for Engineering Teams

Bruce Wang, Director of Eng of API Systems
This talk will cover how to to create a cycle of designing, hiring, learning, & growing so that your engineering team is operating at its fullest potential.
10:45AM PST
1:45pM eST
18:45 GMT

Take a short break, or visit the Lounge to chat with other engineering leaders

11:00AM PST
2:00PM eST
19:00 GMT

Building a Business-& Customer Focused Eng Team

Roy NG, Cofounder & CEO
Co-hosted with Lohika
In this fireside chat, Roy Ng (who was the former COO of Twilio) will discuss what qualities make a great engineering managers from his 2 decades leading teams. He'll share how eng leaders can better understand the business impact of what their teams are shipping.
11:30AM PST
2:30PM eST
19:30 GMT

Talk: Growing Your Engineers & Keeping Them Motivated During a Pandemic

Said Ketchman, Director of Engineering
In this talk, Said will discuss ways to manage growth and motivation for your engineers during this difficult time, balancing their specific circumstance, expectations for performance, and their long-term career goals. Janice Little, the SVP of Engineering at SheerID, will moderate the audience Q&A.
12:00pM PST
3:00pM eST
20:00 GMT

Panel: Building a Great Remote Hiring & Onboarding Process

Ellen Wong
Dir. of Engineering
Papanii Okai
Dir. of Engineering
How do you form an onboarding process where new hires feel a sense of belonging and empowerment as quickly as possible? How do you vet candidates when you're not in the same room? This panel will offer you actionable advice to rethink these processes.
12:30pM PST
3:30pM eST
20:30 GMT

Panel: Connecting Your Team's Work with Your Company's Mission and Goals

Dana Lawson
VP Engineering
Mandar Bapaye
VP Engineering
Everyone wants their work to be meaningful, and it takes a great leader to help their team feel they're truly contributing to their company's mission. In this final session of the summit, you'll get tips on how to rally your team so they understand how their contributions fit into the larger context of what your company is focused on.
1:00PM PST
4:00pM eST
21:00 GMT

Summit Ends — see you in 2021!

Why Attend?

In late Sept, we're excited to host the largest virtual conference for engineering leaders. You'll hear from inspiring speakers and you'll leave with lots of tactical advice on managing high-performing teams. We're excited to have 4 major tracks:

track one
Hear from some of the best engineering leaders, and leave with tactical advice and inspiration
track one
Goal Setting & Planning in Changing Times
track one
Being a Great Engineer
track one
Being a Great People Manager
Get Tickets

What people are saying

Ben Chen
Engineering Manager
“ELEVATE felt uniquely genuine about the challenges that managers face. I had the opportunity to chat with VPs and Directors at plenty of impressive companies, but I felt like everyone treated each other as equals. The ability to openly discuss difficulties we were facing and share best practices with one another made it one of the most enjoyable conferences I’ve attended.”

PLATINUM SPONSORS

GOLD SPONSORS

Thanks to our amazing sponsors!

Platinum
gold

DIVERSITY & INCLUSION PARTNER

PRODUCTION SUPPORT

Register below!

If you have trouble registering below, you can register on Eventbrite here